If you no longer want to use WhatsApp, or if your WhatsApp data is corrupted, you can fix this by permanently deleting your account. Many people have been considering this drastic option since it was announced. that WhatsApp will now ask you to share your chat data with Facebook.
The removal of your WhatsApp account is a decision that should not be taken lightly, as this will permanently delete all your data. Even if you decide to reactivate your account in the future, your deleted data will be gone and cannot be recovered. That being said, if you still want to know how to delete your WhatsApp account, I show you how to do it in a few simple steps.
What happens when you delete WhatsApp?
Before deleting your WhatsApp account, please note that deleting your WhatsApp account will have the following effects:
- deleting your account on WhatsApp
- deleting your message history
- your deletion in all your WhatsApp groups
- deleting your Google Drive backup
- detach your phone number from your account
- deleting your phone number from your friends’ WhatsApp contact lists
According to the WhatsApp FAQ page, you cannot restore a deleted account, and the complete deletion may take 90 days, during which time you cannot access your data. They also state that any personal information shared with other Facebook Companies will also be deleted.
So, How To Delete Your WhatsApp Account?
There is only one way to remove this service, and you will need your phone to do so. You cannot get rid of your WhatsApp account using the web app. The good part is that it should only take a minute and you don’t need to provide too much justification as to why you want to leave.
You just need to follow the following steps:
- Open WhatsApp on your smartphone
- Tap on the three dots icon in the upper right corner. This will open a small menu of options,
- Choose Settings from the drop-down menu
- Enter the Account section of the settings menu. You will find Account just below your name at the top of the screen,
- Locate the option “Delete my account” at the bottom of the list and tap on it
- Enter your phone number and click on the red button “Delete my account“
- Indicate the reason why you are deleting your account in the drop-down menu, then press the red button “Delete my account”
Can’t Go Back
Although deleting your account is quite easy, WhatsApp makes you reconfirm your decision several times on different pages. While it might seem boring at first, it’s good for the company to do this to emphasize the importance of what you do.
Once you hit the “Delete My Account” button on the last page, your account and all related data are gone for good. If you ever want to get WhatsApp back, you’ll have to create a new account from scratch.